Skip to content


The E-Sylum (1/29/2017)

Book Content

The American Numismatic Society issued a press release with information about the recent ANS Gala fundraiser discussed in last week's Diary. Published by CoinWeek, here's an excerpt. -Editor

ansgala2017 awardees
Syd Martin, Tony Terranova, Linda Newman Schapiro,
Kenneth Edlow and Len Augsburger

On Thursday, January 12, 2017, over 150 friends of The American Numismatic Society (ANS) gathered to honor Anthony J. Terranova, the Eric P. Newman Numismatic Education Society and the Newman Numismatic Portal with the Trustees' Award at the Annual Gala at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Anthony Terranova, a noted collector, dealer, and researcher in numismatics, joined the Society 40 years ago. He was elected Fellow in 1992, became a Life Fellow in 1995, and has been a member of the Augustus B. Sage Society since 2006. He has greatly enhanced the ANS collections with important donations to the numismatic cabinet, and with many books, archives, and auction catalogues to the Harry W. Bass, Jr. Library, as well as with many generous donations. Known for his honest and fair dealings, encouragement, and engaging personality, the Society was delighted to acknowledge his exemplary devotion and commitment to numismatics through the presentation of the Trustees' Award by ANS Board President, Sydney Martin.

Kenneth Edlow, Chairman of the ANS Board, presented the Trustees' Award to the Eric P. Newman Numismatic Education Society and the Newman Numismatic Portal, accepted by Mrs. Linda Newman Schapiro and Mr. Leonard Augsburger, respectively.

The Newman Numismatic Portal (NNP), an online numismatic resource, is sponsored by a grant from the Eric P. Newman Numismatic Education Society, and works with the ANS on a scanning project that enables greater access to American numismatic research material on both the ANS Digital Library and Newman Portal websites.

To read the complete article, see:
American Numismatic Society Presents Trustees' Award at 2017 ANS Gala (

Catherine DiTuri of the ANS kindly provided these additional photos from the event. Thanks. See last week's Diary article for more information. -Editor

2017 ANS Gala photo Dee and Wayne Homren, Mark Tomasko, Ben
Wayne and Dee Homren, Mark Tomasko, Ben Hellings

2017 ANS Gala group photo Homren table

I'm sorry I can't recall everyone's names, but here's our table posing with John and Regina Adams. Seated from left: Former ANS Librarian Frank Campbell and his guest, John Lupia, John Sallay, Wayne and Dee Homren. Back center, 2nd from left: David Fanning, Regina and John Adams.

2017 ANS Gala group photo1
Deb Kurtz, David Fanning, Len Augsburger, Wayne Homren,
Tony Terranova, John and Regina Adams

To read the earlier E-Sylum article, see:

E-Sylum Leidman ad01new coin
NNP is 100% non-profit and independent // Your feedback is essential and welcome. // Your feedback is essential and welcome.