Skip to content

George T. Morgan


Born in Birmingham, England. Studied at the art school in Birmingham and won a national scholarship to South Kensington Art School. Studied under Wyon in the Royal Mint in London. He produced dies for Art Union medals in England. Married with two daughters and a son. He played cricket and was one of the founders of the Belmont Cricket Club in West Philadelphia. He was also a member of the Germantown Cricket Club.

Morgan was recruited from England by Mint Director Henry Linderman. He was offered a six month contract at $8 per day. He began as an assistant engraver at the U.S. Mint in 1875 and stayed for 48 years. He died at his home in Germantown.

Morgan produced dies for many Assay Commission medals:

1880 Assay Commission obverse (Julian AC-20)

1881 Assay Commission obverse (Julian AC-24)

1882 Assay Commission obverse (Julian AC-25)

1883 Assay Commission (Julian AC-26)

1884 Assay Commission (Julian AC-27)

1885 Assay Commission (Julian AC-28)

1886 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-29)

1887 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-30)

1890 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-33)

1891 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-34)

1892 Assay Commission (Julian AC-36)

1892 Assay Commission (Julian AC-37)

1894 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-38)

1896 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-40)

1897 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-41)

1898 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-42)

1899 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-43)

1900 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-44)

1901 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-45)

1902 Assay Commission (Julian AC-46)

1903 Assay Commission (Julian AC-47)

1904 Assay Commission (Julian AC-48)

1905 Assay Commission (Julian AC-49)

1906 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-50)

1907 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-51)

1908 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-52)

1909 Assay Commission (Julian AC-53)

1910 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-54)

1911 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-55)

1912 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-56)

1913 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-57)

1914 Assay Commission reverse (Julian AC-58)

1915 Assay Commission (Julian AC-59)

1916 Assay Commission (Julian AC-60)

1917 Assay Commission (Julian AC-61)

1918 Assay Commission obverse (Julian AC-62)

1919 Assay Commission obverse (Julian AC-63)

1920 Assay Commission (Julian AC-64)

1921 Assay Commission (Julian AC-65)

1922 Assay Commission (Julian AC-66)

1923 Assay Commission (Julian AC-67)

1924 Assay Commission (Julian AC-68)

1925 Assay Commission (Julian AC-69)

Morgan produced dies for other mint medals:

Agriculture and Industrial Society (Julian AM-15)

Grant Parade obverse (Julian CM-18)

Rutherford B. Hays (Julian IP-43)

Oval Indian Peace rev (Julian IP-44 to IP-47)

State Department Life Saving 1880 (Julian LS-3)

A. Louden Snowden (Julian MT-10, 11)

Oliver C. Bosbyshell (Julian MT-17)

Bendix Koppel obverse (Julian PE-17)

William Henry Harrison (Julian PR-7, USM 109)

Abraham Lincoln (Julian PR-12, USM 116)

Grant Birthday, 1891 and 1892 (Julian PR-17, 18)

Rutherford B. Hayes (Julian PR-19, USM 119)

James A. Garfield reverse (Julian PR-21)

Meeting of General Society of Cincinnati (1923)

Theodore Roosevelt 1909 (USM 125)

Woodrow Wilson (USM 127)

Warren G. Harding 1921 (USM 128)

Alexander Hamilton (USM 201)

Daniel Manning (USM 204)

Lyman P. Gage reverse (USM 205)

George B. Cortelyou (USM 207)

Franklin MacVeagh (USM 208)

William G. McAdoo obverse (USM 209)

Carter Glass (USM 210)

Andrew M. Mellon obverse (USM 211)

Ogden Mills obverse (USM 212)

John W. Snyder reverse (USM 216)

Albert Gallatin reverse (USM 221)

Friedrick von Engelken (USM 311)

Robert Wickliffe Wooley (USM 312)

Raymond Thomas Baker (USM 313)

Lieutenant Victor Blue (USM 529)

Pennsylvania Bicentennial (USM 613)

Abraham Lincoln Centenary (USM 638)

Woodrow Wilson (USM 641)

Morgan designed the silver dollar commonly known as the Morgan dollar struck 1878 to 1921. In early publications it was also called the "Bland" dollar.

The Morgan dollar appears on the reverse of the $5 silver certificate, series of 1886.

He also designed several patterns for coin designs that were not adopted such as the 1879 "schoolgirl" pattern. Designed the obverse of the Illinois Centennial commemorative half dollar of 1918 and the reverse of the McKinley gold dollar 1916.

bio: Fielding; P-F; Stauffer obit: NUM 38 Feb 1925 page 109; ANAHist 383

Source credit: Pete Smith, American Numismatic Biographies


NNP is 100% non-profit and independent // Your feedback is essential and welcome. // Your feedback is essential and welcome.