Skip to content

Arlie R. Slabaugh


Born on a farm near Eglon, West Virginia. Resident of Chicago. He was deaf after spinal meningitis at age 16. Married to Margaret with two daughters.

Served as associate editor of Numismatic Scrapbook Magazine. In 1963 he received the Nathan Gold Memorial Award. In 1967 he received the Medal of Merit from TAMS. In 1968 he was appointed Director of Numismatic Information for the Franklin Mint. Slabaugh served as president of TAMS 1978 to 1980. He was named a Numismatic News Numismatic Ambassador in 1989. He was honored with one of their presidential medals. In 1991 he received the ANA Medal of Merit. In 1997 he received the ANA Medal of Merit. In 2004 he was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.In 2019 he was inducted into the CCC Hall of Fame.

Author of Confederate States Paper Money in 1958. Author of United States Commemorative Coins in 1962. Author of Prisoner of War Monies and Medals as one of Hewitt's Numismatic Information Series in 1965 @ $1.00. 

Author of Christmas Tokens and Medals in 1966. Author of Encased Postage Stamps, U. S. and Foreign in 1967. Author of Specialized Catalog of Small Size National Bank Notes in 1969. Author of American Centennial Tokens and Medals in 1981.

obit: CW 10/22/2007

Source credit: Pete Smith, American Numismatic Biographies


NNP is 100% non-profit and independent // Your feedback is essential and welcome. // Your feedback is essential and welcome.