Skip to content

Zodiacal Coins

A name given to a set of twelve Mohurs and Rupees, struck by Jahangir, Emperor of Hindustan (1605- 1627), at Agrah, Ahmadabad, and Lahore from A.H. 1019 to A.H. 1035. The ob- verse of each of these coins bears one of the twelve signs of the zodiac, and the reverse has a Persian inscription, frequent- ly indicating the place of issue.

For a detailed account of these pieces see the contributions by J. Gibbs, in the Journal of the Bombay Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society , 1878, and Howland Wood, in the American Journal of Numis- matics , 1909.

Source: Frey's Dictionary (American Journal of Numismatics, Vol. 50, 1916)
NNP is 100% non-profit and independent // Your feedback is essential and welcome. // Your feedback is essential and welcome.